Entrance to the College is on a competitive basis. Candidates are required to pass a rigid medical examination, and to have obtained junior matriculation or an acceptable equivalent. Applications for admission to the College should reach The Secretary, Department of National Defence, Ottawa, before May 31 of each year.

## Section 3.—Department of Public Works.<sup>1</sup>

Since Confederation and before, the constructing department has been known as the Department of Public Works. In 1879 the railways and canals were placed under the control of a new department, the building and maintenance of penitentiaries were transferred to the Department of Justice, the maintenance and construction of lighthouses to the Marine and Fisheries Department, and the smaller drill halls and armouries to the Department of National Defence. The work of the Department of Public Works is now divided into three principal branches, viz., the Engineering Branch, the Architect's Branch and the Telegraph Branch.

Engineering.—The Engineering Branch conducts the construction and repair of wharves, piers, breakwaters, dams, weirs, bank and beach protection works; the improvement of harbours and rivers by dredging; the construction, maintenance and operation of Government dredging plant; the construction and maintenance of graving docks; the construction and maintenance of interprovincial bridges and approaches thereto, also of bridges on highways of national importance in the Northwest Territories; the maintenance of military roads, also hydrographic and ordinary surveys and examinations, inclusive of some precise levelling and geodetic measurements which are required for the preparation of plans, reports and estimates; river gaugings and metering; the testing of cements and materials of construction; the licensing of international and interprovincial ferries; and the control of works constructed in or over navigable waters by authority of the Navigable Waters Protection Act (R.S.C., 1927, c. 140).

Architecture.—The Architect's Branch constructs and maintains Government buildings, post offices, customs houses, examining warehouses, and constructs quarantine, immigration and experimental farm buildings, armouries, military hospitals and drill halls, and telegraph offices.

Telegraphs.—The Telegraph Branch has control of the construction, repair and maintenance of all Government-owned telegraph lines and cables. These lines are located in the provinces of Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Quebec, Ontario, Saskatchewan, Alberta, British Columbia and Yukon. (See also pp. 721-723.)

**Graving Docks.**—There are 5 graving or dry docks built and owned by the Canadian Government. The dimensions of these docks are shown in Table 4. The dock at Kingston, Ontario, is under lease to the Kingston Shipbuilding Company. The dock at Lauzon, Quebec, east of the old dock, is 1,150 fect long (divided into two parts 650 and 500 feet respectively) and 120 feet wide, with depth of 40 feet at high water. It cost about \$3,850,000. Under the Dry Dock Subsidies Act, 1910 (9-10 Edw. VII, c. 17), several docks have been subsidized by payments of 3 or  $3\frac{1}{2}$  p.c. per annum on the original cost for a given number of years, as shown in Table 5.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup>Revised by J. M. Somerville, Assistant Secretary, Department of Public Works. 52230-66